top of page

Photography from a Young Age

From a young age, photography was always a major part of my life. I had my first camera when I was five and by the time I was eight, I knew how to work a Nikon camera better than most adults. My mom loved taking black and white photos, so I often helped her in the darkroom. She taught me all the tricks and tips she had accumulated over the years, hell, she's still teaching how to photograph. So, it was almost fate that I became a photographer.

Photography wasn't always the love of my life. When I was small I dreamed of being an archaeologist. I was six when I saw my first archaeology dig in St.Augustine. It was just a simple routine dig. In St.Augustine to build a new building, you have to have an archaeology dig due to how old the city is. If I'm remembering correctly the only thing they found was a calf skeleton. Me being six-year-old thought these adults got paid to play in the dirt. For the next ten years, I focused solely on history and becoming an archaeologist. I ignored my uncles who told me I needed to think of a better paying career, I read history books during my free time, and I tried to watch history shows when I could. But in my obsession with history, I forgot about something important. I forgot about art.

During this time I considered all forms of art as just hobbies and something I wouldn't focus on. It wasn't history and it wouldn't help me become an archaeologist. I still enjoyed art but I wasn't in love with it. In my junior year of high school, something changed. I was talking to my mother and I was telling her how I wanted to do more with art. It was a surprise to the both of us because until that moment I hadn't admitted that my love of history wasn't as strong as it once was. So broken-heartedly I said goodbye to archaeology and I welcomed back art.

But still, I wasn't interested in photography! It wasn't until November of 2017 that I bought my first official camera. It was an Olympus Tough TG-870. A point and shoot camera with some fun filters. I loved that camera. I took it everywhere with me. To college, to my local park, to a state park an hour and a half away. I hardly went anywhere without it! It was everything I needed and wanted. Soon though, I wanted something better. I wanted something more. So, I called my mother and asked her what happened to her old Nikon D60 and could I have it. Luck was on my side that day because the camera was mine!

In the year that I've had a camera my photography has changed and improved. I'm loving every minute of it. I love seeing the progress I've made. I don't know where I'll be next year but I know the only way is up. I hope you join me on my journey!

bottom of page