top of page

From one coast to the other!

Back in January I packed all my things in a moving van with my mother and for the next several days I was on the road. It was interesting because not only did my mom bring her chihuahua but I also had my cat. Both animals stuck in the cab of a moving truck for over a week. Needless to say when we finally arrived in Washington everyone was relieved.

While we were driving we didn't have time to stop any place but I did see some amazing things on the road. From flat deserts to the wonderfully green woods of the Pacific Northwest. It was truly a stunning drive.

I can't remember where any of these photos were taken. I was using either my moms Olympus camera(my Nikon was just to big to also have in the cab) or my phone. Half the time I was shooting through windows, but I still got some amazing shots.

The first few days my cat wasn't so sure about the truck. Once we got him up on the dash he was happy, it's also were he stayed for the entire trip.

This was taken somewhere in the mid-west by this point I hadn't seen a tree in several days. Multiple times I looked at my mom and complained how much I missed trees. Haha.

There was nothing around and we were both very tired. No trees and almost no plants.

I want to say this was taken in California but I'm not sure. Either way the sunset was beautiful. The clouds were glowing gold, pink, purple, and blue. Still no trees though.

I remember thinking how the road was never going to end. That this drive was some sort of never ending nightmare created by some trickster god. I was really sick of being on the road, haha.

I'm so used to mountains back in Virginia. They are all covered in trees and green. These mountains almost turn gold when the sun hits them right.

I just thought this mountain looked nice.

Someone was tired. What's not pictured is me about 30 second after this was take going and trying to rub his belly and than my mom scolding me telling me not to bother him.

These two I actually remember where they were taken. We had just entered California and we could see the mountains in the distance except we couldn't see the tops. They were covered in dark clouds. A storm was brewing. When we finally entered the mountains it was like someone turned off the sun. Five minutes before this I was admiring the sunset. My mom and I joked that it looked like we were driving into hell. The windmills in the distance looked like something from a horror movie. It was honestly a memorable moment. Also still no trees.

These two were from Oregon and I would first like to say TREES! I finally see trees again. Oregon was beautiful and so very green. Back in Virginia once winter hit everything turned brown and looked dead. But upon entering Oregon I saw so much green. It was a wonderful sight.

After this I didn't taken many photos mostly because I just wanted to get to Washington and I was very excited to be so close. It was a great trip but honestly I wouldn't do it again for a very long time.

bottom of page