top of page

Road to a Renaissance

On May 20th I loaded myself and my camera into my car and started driving. I was going to pick up a friend and we were on our way to a renaissance festival. Specifically the Virginia Renaissance Faire.

I was excited, my friend was excited. Nothing could go wrong until it did. Twenty minutes down the road my car started to act up. More specifically my tire. I pull off to the side off the highway and step out. My tire was flat. This was the worst thing that could happen that day. An hour later my tire was replaced with the spare and I was on my way to get the tire replaced.

But I was still determined to go to the renaissance faire. My friend called up his family and they dropped off his car. We had less then four left of the festival and an hour that we still had to drive. My anxiety was strong but my desire to see a knight was stronger.

Finally after so many hours we arrived with two hours left at the faire. Most of the activities where already over but the Court of Common Pleas was supposed to start soon. So we wondered around looked at all the lords and ladies. Looking at the knights! I was able to talk to a knight for a few moments and pet his horse named Loki. His suit of armor was gorgeous and looked far to hot to be in on that day. I was so glad when my photo of the armor turned out good. I think I might have cried if it didn't.

So, time passed quickly and my friend and I made our way over to the court. I thought we were just going to listen. It was quite funny. The first case was a man bringing death to trial for saying rude things. Only thing was death didn't speak. One of his weapons had a squeaky toy on it and that's how they responded. It was a riot, they settled the matter by rock, paper, scissors. Death won. Next was someone against the bailiff but I wasn't paying attention to much because I was to busy with my friend signing both of us up to be the next case.

My friend brought me to court for poor "carriage maintenance". He had said that as it was my carriage I should have made sure it was in working order so we wouldn't be late. I said I was to adorable to be brought to court. Makes perfect sense, right? I even got Death on my side! Eventually the court had us settle the matter through thumb war. I may have won through unconventional methods, but in my defense the court did not give us rules except no running away. Which I may have also done. My creative method was covering my friends thumb with my other hand. In the end I won the case!

Soon, we decided to leave before the masses caused traffic on the small roads. But not before I stopped by one of the vendors and got myself a beautiful leather necklace. All to soon the day was over and I didn't want to leave, but at the same time I wanted to pick my car up and go home. Hopefully next time I want to see some knight I don't run into this trouble.

bottom of page