top of page

The Amazing Greek Street Art

Back in December my family and I spent the holidays in Athens, Greece. It was wonderful and amazing. Truly a trip I will never forget. One of the best things I did while I was there was take a tour of the Greek street art.

Before looking up tours to do I hadn't realized that Athens had such a vibrant and active street art community. My guide had us meet in the neighborhood of Technopolis. From what my guide told me it was one of the cooler neighborhoods.

Some of my favorites where by Dreyk the Pirate. My guide called his paintings the fat sailor and honestly I thought they where very cute. We saw works done by Ino, which where absolutely stunning. There was so much detail and meaning in his work. I was truly mind blown.

Below I've included my photos from the tour as well as what I can remember from it. If you're interested in the tour look up Discover Awesome Street Art In Athens. Popi is the guide and she's amazing and a terrific guide!

This was the first Fat Sailor I saw! It wasn't that far from the Technopolis train stop. I thought the art style was just very cute. I love whatever animal that is the sailor is holding. Popi said that the sailor was supposed to be a representation of the people of Athens. She then laughed and said "I don't know why he made him fat. I don't think we're fat." Truly a wonderful piece of art.

Another fat sailor!

This one was interesting because it's made by Ino, one of Athens most famous street artist, but it's not done yet. I thought it was interesting how you can see Inos' process through the sketches on the building.

Another one by Ino. This one is interesting because Ino was actually commissioned to do this one. This piece is warning people about hepatitis.

This is one of my personal favorites. It's by the artist Hambas. I adore the use of lines and shading. The flowers growing out of the heart are beautiful.

This one is fascinating because it's not a traditional piece of street art. Instead of being just paint it's mixed media and from what I can it's holding up pretty well. The artist is Anna Dimitriou.

I just thought this one was cute.

This piece was made to honor and memorialize Loukanikos or Riot Dog. He was a dog that appeared at protest in Greece. He was truly loved by the people of Athens.

bottom of page