top of page

Save money, Stay in Hostels

A few months ago I spent three days and two nights in Philadelphia to celebrate turning 21. The month prior I was constantly stressing on how I would be able to afford spending two nights in a city. Hotels are expensive and motels aren't much better. I'm a broke college kid who just wants to travel. How in the world would I be able to do this?!

The answer is simple. Hostels. To most Americans hostels aren't something that's normal. For many the only exposure they have to hostels is a horror movie. So many don't use them or think you're going to get robbed and killed. Which isn't true. I loved the hostel I stayed at. It wasn't in the heart of the city but it was within walking distance.

At the hostel I shared a room with seven other people. The room was a bit small but I didn't spend a lot of time in it, so it didn't really matter to me. There was a common

I met so many interesting people there. One of the people who worked at the hostel kept calling me Ms.Good Vibes on account of my good vibes only shirt, which I thought was hilarious.There was an opera singer from Canada and their girlfriend, a girl from Italy currently living in New York, and her friend who might have been from either Italy or Austria. I couldn't quite hear what she said. One of the nights we all played cards against humanity while drinking the one free beer we got. I didn't know their names and after that night I only saw glances of them in the hallways but it was amazing.

So, hostels aren't this scary or sketchy thing that many Americans think it is. Most of them are filled with wonderful people who want to travel just like you. So next time you travel you should consider hostels!

bottom of page